2015: Review of a Year

The Year 2015 was one of my favorite years and there were many things that made it enjoyable and unforgettable for me and my generation.

I actually made a list to all the things I wanted to see and do this year.

January was kind of a bad start and also February was kind of tough, due to my braces being placed upon my teeth and I wasn’t able to fully enjoy “Saint Valentine’s”.

Anyways… the year was a geeky year and with that I started the year with a movie that wasn’t that geeky, yet, it was a “Bro” film; Furious 7 was the name of the film. If you were thinking about something else.

Furious 7 was a dumb, yet enjoyable film to see as I went alone to see the film as I didn’t find someone else who wanted to go to the theater with me to see the film.

That same day, “Daredevil” was premiered on “NETFLIX” that same day I went to see the movie and that was a cool thing since I had to stay up until Midnight to see the first episode and absolutely loved the series. “Daredevil” was a surprise since the collaboration with “NETFLIX” was a groundbreaking move and the events that occurred with the series and everything that went with it and also the acting was really great due to both Charlie Cox and Vincent D’Onofrio.

After that I resumed classes and with that in mind, I went back to my usual routine.

In Mexico, “Saint Seiya” is actually a big deal to most people who saw the show during the 90’s and with all the hype from the last film and the expectations from the new manga and also the recent series; “Saint Seiya: Soul of Gold” was a ONA (Original Net Animation) which aired every Two weeks or so and was based on the adventures of the “Gold Saints” which somehow revived and are fighting in “Asgard” and also they receive the new “God Cloth”.

That same month it was serialized on both the American and Japanese “Weekly Shonen Jump” the mini-series or “Naruto Gaiden: The Seventh Hokage and the Scarlet Spring”. The series ran for 10 weeks and it was a prologue to the new “Boruto: Naruto the Movie” that was soon to be screened in Japan.

After weeks and also 3 years of waiting, we got “Avengers: Age of Ultron” and it was a massive event I had planned with two of my friends as we went to the Midnight screening and we were awed at such a bigger and darker film that this was in comparison with the last film. My friends were blown away by it and said they liked it better than the last one and yeah… let your comments flow in and say what you think of it.

Also, the same month that “Avengers” was premiered, in Mexico we also had the limited screening of: “The Last: Naruto the Movie”. The movie was a limited run which filled the packed the whole room and many of the screenings were sold-out and my respects to those who got to see it (including me) and my condolences to those who didn’t see it at the theater. The film was a beautiful film with bright colors and great animation and also a great story which is a bridge between chapters 699 and 700.

Also it was announced that the new “Crayon Shin-chan” film was to be dubbed and released in Mexico due to the story of it being centered around the title character moving to Mexico and with that it also helped to strengthen Japanese-Mexican relationships. There’s still no sign of the film.

June was a tough month due to the following things: Graduation, finals and also finals from the past semester. I studied like crazy and went to rock the shit out of that exam and passed like boss, and with that said, I went to my friend’s birthday the next day and ordered myself a pint of “Guinness” and proceeded to have a great time with my buddy and all of the other guys and we went to plan what we were to do tomorrow.

The next day of that we went to see the anticipated “Jurassic World” and… it made me feel bad and not that much excited anymore. Yeah, I somehow feel good and bad to what the film stands for and I still miss the classic film which is one of my favorite movies of all time.

The following Monday, I went to see the new PIXAR film which was “Inside Out” and my reaction to the film was… “Wow”. The film was not one of my most expected films of the year and when I went to see it, it was a really great experience and also love the short before the film which is titled “Lava” a musical which includes a love between two volcanoes. Some Hours Later… “DBZ: Fukkatsu no F” was the film I wanted to see that day and it was a fun yet somehow short film in comparison with the last “DBZ” film, although, I do praise the dubbing in this film than the last one and it was true “DBZ” experience while I was watching it in theaters.

Days after that… Graduation came and also I completed my “Saint Seiya: The Lost Canvas” manga collection and I’m still buying and reading the manga by the “Panini Manga” group.

July was a month in which I only saw one film and it was “Ant-Man” my new favorite “MARVEL” film which was a surprise as it was really as good a new entry to the MCU and some people didn’t see the film due to it’s dumb nature from the title of the movie and hero and I don’t blame them, yet, the film was worth watching and I actually wanted to see it again. That same month I travelled for the first time in 18 years and actually went to 2 states of Mexico which were: Sonora and Chihuahua.

August, a month of goodbyes and welcomes. We said goodbye to a friend who went to study abroad or something like that and a welcome to someone who I thought was going to be part of my life and well, it didn’t necessarily happen, but, I’m kind of happy and torn apart due to the fact it was a short thing. That same month I went to see “TED 2” and well, it was a “yay and nay”.

September didn’t offer me anything and I only bought the recent and new disc for the first cast of “The Lion King” in Mexico for the first time ever and I love the disc with all my heart due to it being in my first language and it having the greatest voices in the history of entertainment.

Things I forgot to say in my post is that during July, “El Chapo” escaped his prison and went on to hide himself from the public for months and recently he got recaptured by the Federal Government. During that same month, I visited “Ciudad Juarez” which is a big city and also I would dub it: “Sin City”. Everything got way out of hand when the notice came at hand and hit hard on the “Juarez” city.

October doesn’t even bother in appearing since I didn’t see a movie or something else like it. October was actually the first time I visited Los Angeles, California and that was thanks to the props of “Back to the Future” being displayed at the “Puente Hills Mall” and it was a fun experience to know the Mall and also take a lot of pictures at the parking lot and making the “DeLorean” run of “Back to the Future” and also after that I went to taste “Pink’s Hot Dogs” and it was a really tasty and great experience to know such an iconic place in the city.

November came like a bridge between December and the new year and also nostalgia invaded my mind;It was a hard month for me. I saw at least two movies that month which were “SPECTRE” and “Crimson Peak”. “Crimson Peak” is directed by one of my favorite directors which is Guillermo Del Toro and the movie was heavily advertised as a horror film and that wasn’t the case since it was a Gothic Romance film and not the other way around and I still praise many of the aesthetics that were present in the film like the Mansion of “Crimson Peak” and also the early “Buffalo”. If you’ve read my past post about “SPECTRE” you should already know what I think about the movie. Also, “Jessica Jones” was available on NETFLIX and it was a really cool show and I hope to see the next season just as soon as possible since the next “Daredevil” season will be available in March.

December was also a time for me to reflect and that month I saw at least 3 films in which I was most familiar and for which I grew up knowing the stories, but now they were for the new generation. The first film I saw that month was “Boruto: Naruto the Movie” which is the sequel to the original series and centers around the titular character and his team and how he proves himself against his father, “Naruto”; You should already know what I think about it with a past post I made. The big event of the month was obviously: “Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens”. After almost 10 years of not seeing a Live-action film and the film was a big hit and also I made some of my points of view of the film in a past post. The last film was actually a really nice film which I had great hopes for it and it was really a great film and that was: “The Peanuts Movie”. I saw it with my best buddy and as both fans of “Peanuts” we went to see and it was a great film with great animation, great voice acting and great music and we were laughing a lot during the film.

One of my favorite films of the year was actually “Mad Max: Fury Road”. An amazing film with great visuals and the greatest action sequences I have ever seen on the screen; Never saw the film on the big screen, but, I saw it on my Blu-ray due to me buying the “Mad Max Anthology” with the past 3 films and including this one and now they are my favorite films of all time.

Overall, the year was filled with nostalgia and great people and also new horizons and obstacles I somehow I am still to overcome and cross. Still, I do give thanks to the people who followed me during this year and the people who still talk to me and keep in touch with me and keep giving me words of advice and way more.

Thank you all for reading my blog and keeping up with all my stuff.

Leave a comment